Academic Excellence Recognition

The Board has established a recognition initiative for individuals who have achieved academic excellence in gaining procurement and/or contract management qualifications. The Purpose of the initiative is to build a highly qualified procurement workforce and increase procurement capability by encouraging procurement personnel to complete a procurement qualification, and to provide a recognition mechanism for procurement staff achieving academic excellence. The scheme will run in parallel to the Board’s Procurement Qualification Support Fund and will run from 1 July 2018 to 30 June 2023.

Eligibility Criteria

To be eligible you must:

1) Be a current employee of a South Australian public authority, working in a role which has a ‘significant procurement focus’ (meaning “being in full time procurement or contract management, or whose role involves spending more than 50% of their time on procurement related activities or managing contracts”).

2) Be either permanently employed by that public authority or on a fixed term contract with at least twelve months remaining at the date of application for reimbursement.

3) Submit a valid application form. This application should include evidence of qualification completion and costs incurred, details of any agency/other funding, and Line Manager verification that your role has a ‘significant procurement focus’.

4) Have successfully completed your qualification from 1 July 2016 onwards (Reimbursement Time Limit). Qualifications completed prior to this date are not eligible for reimbursement.

5) Meet the Fund Scope requirement – to be eligible, the qualification must:

  • Be obtained through a University, OR, Vocational Education and Training (VET) provider, OR, the Chartered Institute of Procurement and Supply (CIPS).
  • Be an Australian Qualification Framework (AQF) level 4 to 9 qualification or equivalent.
  • Be procurement/contract management specific (i.e. law, business and other indirectly relevant qualifications will not be in scope).

Academic Excellence Categories

Three discreet categories for academic excellence have been established. There are three awards available per category.

Procurement Academic Excellence categories

Category Name Category Total Financial Year 1st Prize 2nd Prize 3rd Prize Comment
Category 1: University Qualification $3,000 $1,500 $1,000 $500  
Category 2: Professional Association Qualification $2,000 $1,000 $650 $350 Currently only CIPS qualifications in scope. IACCM may be considered if it offers qualifications in the future that meet the fund requirements.
Category 3: VET Qualification $1,000 $500 $300 $200  
TOTAL: $6,000        


Selection Criteria and Process

An open call for applications will be issued at least once a year. This is likely to be called in early 2019. In addition, applicants for the Board’s Procurement Qualification Support Fund will be able to opt in and include the required information on their application form; eliminating the need for those individuals to complete two application forms.

A selection panel will meet annually to review the applications and determine the winners in each category. The panel will be chaired by the State Procurement Board Chair or nominee. The decision of the panel is final and no appeals will be entered. The panel in its sole discretion may choose not to award some or all prize categories.  The panel will consider the following selection criteria in determining the winners of procurement academic excellence in each category.

Procurement Academic Excellence categories – Selection Criteria
University CIPS VET
  • Academic transcript examining grade point average for qualification.
  • Any other information provided by the applicant in support of their application (eg. academic prizes, lecturer comments, very high grades).
  • Academic transcript examining average mark for qualification.
  • Any other information provided by the applicant in support of their application (eg. lecturer comments, very high grades).
  • Statement from line manager on how the applicant has applied skills and learnings from the qualification in their day to day role, and how this has added value to the agency.
  • Any other information provided by the applicant in support of their application (eg. lecturer comments).

Winners in each category will be advised of the outcome and the funds awarded. The funds must be used for further professional development only. This could include a broad range of activities; for example, professional memberships, journal subscriptions, training sessions, or conferences. The professional development needs to be relevant to the individuals’ role and career aspirations. The professional development must be procurement related but does not have to be procurement specific (e.g. leadership, business). The State Procurement Board’s capability team will liaise with category winners to ensure the professional development activities are appropriate and manage payments and bookings. Funds must be nominated for use by the individual by the end of the financial year otherwise any remaining funds are forfeited. Applicants may use the funds for multiple professional development opportunities. Category winners may also choose to undertake professional development which exceeds the fund amount allocated to them if the individual or individual’s agency makes up the difference in cost.

Category winners will receive a signed certificate of procurement academic excellence recognition from the Board's Presiding Member. These will be presented to category winners at an annual recognition event hosted by the Board.


How to Apply

The Capability team will issue an open call for applications in early 2019. Applicants for the Procurement Qualification Support Fund can also choose to be considered for this initiative by completing the relevant section of the Procurement Qualification Support Fund application form (link?).


Further Information

For further information contact the Capability Team via email: or phone: 8226 5717.